Reverend Steve's Christian Website

Heirarchy of Angels

(Also See The Nine Orders of Angels

Some sort of hierarchy of angelic beings is indicated in the Bible, although it doesn't give specific details. Jesus Christ is the Son of God and the Lord of Hosts, the Chief Commander of All Angelic Beings.

Colossians 1:16 says, "For by Him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, wheather thrones or powers or rulers or authorities: all things were created by Him and for Him."

In Ephesians 6:12, we note that there are at least 4 rankings of fallen angels; it says "For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood but against
principalities, against powers, against rulers of darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.

In 1 Peter 3: 22, we find another "different ranking" of the angelic hosts: "Jesus Christ has gone into heaven and sits at God's right hand with angels, authorities and powers in submission to Him."


The hierarchy of angels may be ranked from highest
to lowest into nine (9) orders or choirs.

are the highest order of the Hierarchy of Angels.
are the highest order of the Hierarchy of Angels.
These angelic beings spend their time worshiping
and praising God. The prophet Isaiah vividly describes
them in his vision of God: "In the year that
King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord sitting on a throne,
high and lifted up, and the train of His robe filled
the temple. Above it stood seraphim; each one had six
wings: with two he covered his face, with two he covered
his feet, and with two he flew. And one cried to another
and said: 'Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts; the
whole earth is full of His glory!" (Isaiah 6:1-3).

are the second highest order.
The Bible depicts Cherubim as powerful and majestic
angelic creatures who surround God's throne
(see Ezekiel l :5 - l 4; 28: l 2). They are also
depicted on the Ark of the Covenant as its Guardians.
God sent them to guard Eden after the expulsion of
Adam and Eve: "After He drove the man out, He
placed on the east side of the Garden of Eden cherubim
and a flaming sword flashing back and forth to guard
the way to the tree of life" (Genesis :24).
are the third ranking order of angels. They were also known as "Wheels" and "the Many-eyed Ones".

These Angels were often believed to be deployed
like charioteers around the Throne of God. They were
described in Ezekiel 1:13-19 as having four wings
and four faces. They sparkled like the color of
burnished brass. They had the hands of a man under
their wings. Their wings were joined one to the other
and they did not turn when they traveled -they all went
straight forward. They had four faces. They had the
face of a man as well as three other faces on their
helmets - that of a lion, an ox, and an eagle. They
moved on wheels in the middle of wheels, blue-green
in color. Above their heads "the likeness of the
firmament," which was the color of crystal,
and under this were their wings, two on each side
of their bodies. The noise of their wings was
"like the noise of great waters."

are the fourth ranking order of angels.
This Order of Guardian Angels decide the success or
failure of nations. Dominations have been described
as wearing long albs, or gowns reaching to their feet,
hitched with a golden belt and adorned with a green
sole. They carry golden staffs in the right hand and
the Seal of God in the left. At other times, they
are said to hold an orb or a specter.

are the fifth ranking Order of Angels.
They have been called "The Brilliant or
Shining Ones." They were called the Angels of
miracles, encouragement, and blessings, and were
particularly involved with people struggling with
their faith. Virtues have been said to be the chief
bestowers of grace and valor. The two Angels at the
Ascension of Jesus were traditionally believed to be
from the Order of Virtues. Virtues were usually
represented in a group.

are the sixth ranking Order of Angels.
Powers have been credited as being the first Order
of Angels created by God, responsible for maintaining
the border between Heaven and Earth. Acting as a sort
of elite guard, they constantly watch for demonic attack,
and are the major line of defense and battle during
heavenly warfare. It is their duty to protect the
world from the infiltration of demons. They protect
our souls from these evil beings and act as ministers
of God who avenge evil in the world. It was also
believed that at death, the Powers guided our
transition to Heaven.

are the seventh ranking Order of Angels.
The Principalities were considered to be the guardians
over the nations and the leaders of the world. They
are assumed to be given more freedom to act than the
lesser angels below them and are responsible for
carrying out divine acts concerning their area of
jurisdiction. It was from this Order that the Angel
who aided David in his task of slaying Goliath was
thought to have come. Finally, they are given to the
task of managing the duties of the angels.
Principalities have been described as being dressed
in soldier's uniforms with golden girdles.

are eighth ranking order of angels.
Archangel Michael is believed to be the highest
ranking warring angel in God's heavenly host. He will
play a special role in the end time: "For the
Lord Himself will come down from heaven, with a loud
command, with the voice of the archangel and with
the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ
will rise first. After that, we who are still alive
and are left will be caught up together with them
in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so
we will be with the Lord forever" (1 Thessalonians 4:16-1 7).
As powerful as Michael is, he does keep to
his proper domain (Jude 1:6) and does not over-exert
his authority over his adversary, Lucifer: "But
even the archangel Michael, when he was disputing
with the devil about the body of Moses, did not dare
to bring a slanderous accusation against him, but
said, 'The Lord rebuke you!" (Jude l: 9).
Ultimately, however, Scripture says that he will
prevail over Satan (see Revelation 12: 79).
Archangel Gabriel is a highest ranking messenger who
brought special messages to God's people. In
Scripture we find him bringing messages to: Daniel
to reveal the future events to him (Daniel 8:16; 9:21);
Zacharias regarding the birth of John the Baptist
(Luke 1 :19) and to Mary to announce the birth of
Jesus (Luke l :30).

are the last order of angels.
They are believed to be ministering angels sent forth
to minister for those who will inherit salvation
(Hebrews 1:14). Within the orders of angels, only
archangels and angels (the lowest categories in the
hierarchy) are traditionally said to interact with
man and woman in the course of daily life. In some cases,
the angel serves only as a messenger, but in others,
the angel lingers in visible form, taking responsibility
for the well-being of individuals in trouble, guarding
them from harm, offering them sustenance, or leading
them out of danger. Nowadays they are still busy
ministering to us.